Men Who Stand Tall

On this Father’s Day I reflect on a few of the men who’ve made an indelible impression on my life, not by their words, but by their actions. Some I never got the chance to tell that I was watching how they walked and I was not disappointed.

Austin Edwards. A man of quiet strength and godly character. He consistently served faithfully as the Sunday School superintendent at the first church I attended. A man of few words, but when he spoke, only wisdom poured forth. He was not an emotional Christian, but he was solid, dependable, upright, respected, and gentle.

H. W. Falls. A man in a league all his own. My first pastor. A man who took His calling as God’s servant very seriously. A holy man. He loved his congregation and the children. I didn’t hesitate to go to him about what was on my mind or for him to pray for me as I was leaving for college. I believed God answered his prayers and He did. He had an open door policy. He never betrayed my childlike trust.

Carlis Moody Sr. What a privilege to be under his pastorate while I was in college. A student of the Word who lives the Word. A man of humility, known for integrity, and fidelity in his marriage. At 81, he is still going strong in the Lord, never wavering from preaching and living the uncompromising truths of God’s Word.

I could name more. I am so thankful for these godly men of standard. We need more. My constant prayer is that God would raise up a new generation of men who will take God at His Word and wholeheartedly follow Him in the tradition of Caleb, Joshua, Joseph, Daniel, and Apostle Paul. It can be done in the 21st century. Will you be that man?

Advertisements

2 Responses to “Men Who Stand Tall”

  1. Julia Selah Says:

    Thank you for spurring me on to living by The Book, to love and good deeds!

  2. Paula Says:

    Excellent! It’s very encouraging to read of those who imprinted on you their godly witness; what it means to be a real man. A true man of God who puts Him first. So inspiring in this day when there are many more of them needed by so many. I don’t think many men realize how very much this walk with Christ is needed today. I say this as one who works with orphans, refugees and those in prisons; and even those who are “free” but need a Daddy, even as an adult. I too appreciate those I know who walk the walk. And I too thank God for them.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: