The Bee and Me

Just before I moved to Washington, DC from Chicago to take my first job in news, I bought my first car from my oldest brother. Public transportation was great in the windy city so I didn’t need a car. I got around town with a monthly CTA pass for $40 a month.

I knew I would need a car in DC and my brother had one year old silver Toyota Celica. I loved it and took over the payments. Right before getting the car, I got my driver’s license. Before, I was in no rush to get a license, since I didn’t have a car. My good friend Jennifer was diligent in giving me driving lessons. She’s a teacher by profession so she was perfectly calm as my driving instructor. (Disclaimer: Jennifer doesn’t like to take credit for teaching me how to drive).

I’d had the car for less than a week when one day while driving in my Chicago neighborhood with the windows down, a bee flew in. A bee! I’m allergic to the bee sting! I panicked. I begin to keep my eyes on the swirling bee and not on the road. Needless to say, I hit the car in front of me. The bee didn’t sting me but I was stung with my first car accident. My car had more damage than the other car. At least it was drivable but the accident was so embarrassing! I could hear the dialogue: Cheryl what happened? A bee got in the car; I got distracted, forgot about driving and looking ahead, and slammed into another car!

Distractions. We face them daily. Many are tiny (like bees). They come unannounced, yet masterfully rob us of our time and God-given purpose. That quick phone call that turns into an unproductive hour session, a nursed hurt we refuse to release, hours spent on Facebook and browsing the internet. We look up and we are off course. Our lives are a wreck, out of alignment, because of a distraction.

I fight distractions daily. Some days I win, but more than I like, I lose. I’m determined by God’s grace, to resist caving in to distractions and instead, keep my eyes focused on the one goal that really matters, pleasing God.

One Response to “The Bee and Me”

  1. Jennifer Robinson Says:

    What a powerful and true object lesson. Especially the part about distractions coming from places we never expect. I like to pray a prayer from Brother Lawrence, the monk, that often helps me keep my focus on The Lord throughout the day. But, as you say, we hardly know they are distractions until the damage is done.
    And by the way, you have become a good driver after all. Thanks again for sharing with us.

    Jennifer

Leave a comment